People conversing in the Penland Courtyard

Holidays

Human Resources

The University of South Carolina observes the same number of holidays as other state agencies, even though the days on which the holidays are observed may differ because of the academic schedule. When a university holiday falls on a Saturday or Sunday, the holiday will be observed on the preceding Friday or the following Monday.

2024 Holiday Schedule

The following dates have been approved as the official university holidays in 2024:

HolidayDate
New Year's Day (observed) Monday, January 1, 2024
Martin Luther King Jr. Day  Monday, January 15
National Memorial Day Monday, May 27
Independence Day Thursday, July 4
Labor Day Monday, September 2
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 28
Day After Thanksgiving  Friday, November 29
Christmas Eve  Tuesday, December 24
Christmas Day Wednesday, December 25
Day After Christmas  Thursday, December 26
December Holiday Friday, December 27
December Holiday Monday, December 30
December Holiday Tuesday, December 31
New Year's Day (first 2025 holiday) Wednesday, January 1, 2025