Steinway Piano

Oswald Writers Series

The Etherredge Center

The Spring 2024 Oswald Writers Series featuring Karen Russell

Etherredge Center, Tuesday, March 19, 2024 at 7:30 PM.

Karen RussellKaren Russell
Photo Credit: Dan Hawk

Karen Russell won the 2012 and the 2018 National Magazine Award for fiction, and her first novel, Swamplandia! (2011), was a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize, winner of the New York Public Library Young Lions Award, and one of The New York Times’ Ten Best Books of 2011. She has received a MacArthur Fellowship and a Guggenheim award, the Bard Fiction Prize, and a Shirley Jackson Award. She and is a former fellow of the NYPL Cullman Center and the American Academy in Berlin. She graduated summa cum laude from Northwestern University and received her MFA from Columbia University’s School of the Arts. Born and raised in Miami, Florida, she now lives in Portland, Oregon with her husband, son, and daughter.

For more information on the series, contact Dr. Andrew Geyer with the Department of English at (803) 648-3239 or e-mail This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..